spliced swill ....... previous ....... next ....... current ....... archives ....... notes ....... email ....... profile .......

2005-05-09
puddles of kudzu-lush love

She fills my world.

I'm steeped in Anna...awash with thoughts of Anna...my love for this child is a wildfire vine, kudzu-lush and fiercely tendrilled...she distracts me and attracts me and destroys my defenses...the way her hair wisps and curls after baths...the edible nape of her neck...her belly-thrust-footie-pajama-scuff-swagger...the kiss-worthy bruises that patchwork her shins....

Last week as we were walking, I held back for a moment; Anna raced ahead, babble-singing and toddler-striding, and I watched in awe as the brim of her hat danced between her shoulders...and her solid little legs flashed beneath the hem of her dress...and there were tiny pink bows on the backs of her socks...and her voice was sweet helium honey...and I melted in a motherlove puddle on the pavement.

<<< * >>>