spliced swill ....... previous ....... next ....... current ....... archives ....... notes ....... email ....... profile .......

2005-08-31
clean bagels, blankies, and love

We slowly descend the stairs. Her right arm stretches above her head as she grips the banister, smiles at me, and says,
- Caaaaareful. You love careful. I love careful, too!


I open the fridge and exclaim with dismay,
- Oh, no!
- Wha's wrong, mommy?
- We're out of milk, Anna.
- I's okay, mommy. Have some blankie. You feel better now?


Lunch time.
- I wanna bagel.
I prepare a bagel quarter spread with sunflower seed butter (a protein-rich sub for peanut butter that she loves) Anna eyes the bagel with disdain.
- No! No peanud budder --- I wanna fresh bagel.
- I'm sorry, sweetie, we don't have any more bagels. Want some jelly on top?
- No. I wanna nother bagel.... [wheels whirl, cogs click] ....
.... a clean bagel.


<<< * >>>