spliced swill ....... previous ....... next ....... current ....... archives ....... notes ....... email ....... profile .......

2005-09-11
it's a good thing I love my kitchen


It's our HAPPY ANNIVERSABIRTHERY celebration tonight
--- married 6 years today; K turns 31 on Tuesday ---
and I haven't spent this much time in the kitchen since last Thanksgiving!

Baked a Chocolate Whiskey Bundt Cake (I subbed dark rum for the whiskey, of course) with Chocolate-Orange Buttercream Frosting (no Grand Marnier in the house, so subbed cheapy orange liqueur and halved the recipe, which made plenty for our tastes).

Four mini loaves of Mimi's Caf� Carrot Bread (subbed mandarin oranges for pineapple) with my own "faux cream cheese lite" frosting concoction (yogurt cheese, lemon juice, orange zest, powdered sugar, butter).

Hand-torn basil chicken salad.
Sweet Italian chicken sausage "pat�"

I slow-roasted a huge pork roast smothered in Trader Joe's Korean Bulgogi sauce so we'll have plenty left-over for sandwiches during the week.

And, oh yeah, managed to sear another chunk of cumin-crusted pork this morning before throwing it in the crock pot with home-made salsa (made that on Friday) and chopped shallots. Future chili base!

I am ON FIRE!

<<< * >>>